The final piece of the wingfoil puzzle

It took me a while to realise that I needed to buy a new board for wingfoiling. If the Wizard 125L had a track box in it, I’d have used it as my ‘do everything’ board. Unfortunately it does not and I know first hand that the Infinity 84 is a bit too back-footed for comfort. The main worry would be stepping off the back of a strapless board! When considering it last year I really, really didn’t want to get yet another board but now that I have a van its not so much of a problem. So after a lot of research the credit card emerged once more…

Now the big question – what brand and volume do I go for? Initially I wanted a bigger Fanatic SkyWing. I’m familiar with the brand and have used one of the boards before. However, it turns out that they are pretty hard to get hold of at the moment. Given the knock-on manufacturing effects of 2020, I just don’t trust one getting to me in the next 3 months. I’ve already been waiting 5 months for a piece of kit and I don’t think the situation will improve for a while.

Knowing all this, I decided to invest in something cheap, cheerful and made for wing-foiling – a 140L Gong Zuma! Its a bit on the large side, perhaps, but it has some things going for it.
1. It was a very cool Ā£450
2. It is big enough for friends and family to have a go on this summer.

Standup Paddle Mag also gave it a decent ‘all rounder’ write-up. I trust them massively where kit is concerned, so it seemed like a no brainer. Hopefully I’ll progress on to a compact 90L by the end of August.

And that’s it! A full quiver of wing foiling kit all ready to go. Two wings, a pump, a big old foil board, a 2000cm2 foil and a van to throw everything inside. I’m very excited to learn something new and share my experiences with you all.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started